The Region

Cistercian lands

The Távora-Varosa region, named after the two streams of Douro River, consists of the municipalities of Moimenta da Beira, Sernancelhe, Tarouca and also some communities of Armamar, Lamego, Penedono, São João da Pesqueira and Tabuaço.

The soils, the geographic and climatic characteristics, bring together excellent conditions for creating fresh wines and with ideal acidity for the production of sparkling wines, which are among the best in Portugal.

Discover the Cistercian legacy!

The Távora river

The Távora river softens the  typical extreme climate of this region, benefiting the cultivation and labour of plantations, apple orchards and vineyards.

In a predominant area of sparkling and white wines, the special location of Faia, in the heart of Távora, reveals itself excellent to the cultivation of red grape varieties, giving to Tempo Largo, in Romilões vineyard, its potential and quality.


The small and beautiful village of the municipality of Sernancelhe – Viseu, has the particularity of being partly submerged in the 60’s, due to the construction of the Vilar dam (Moimenta da Beira).

Reproduzir vídeo

Visit “Terras do Demo”

45 min. from Lamego – 1h from Viseu/Guarda – 1h30 from Vila Real